Skip to main content

ITK Board of Directors and Annual General Meetings conclude in Rankin Inlet, NU

By September 12, 2019 No Comments

ITK Board of Directors and Annual General Meeting conclude in Rankin Inlet, NU 

September 12, 2019, Rankin Inlet, Nunavut – The Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami Board of Directors advanced national Inuit priorities through a series of decisions and roundtable discussions during meetings in Rankin Inlet, Nunavut, this week.  

During the Board of Directors meeting from Sept 10-11, Directors determined regional allocations for federal Inuit-specific investments on early learning and child care for the next 8 years. They also decided to establish and house an Interim Inuit Post-Secondary Education National Coordination Secretariat at ITK until March 2022 to support implementation of the Inuit Post-Secondary Education Strategy developed by Inuit and funded through Budget 2019 investments.  

The Board of Directors also continued discussions on a unified Inuktut orthography that is compatible for use across Inuit Nunangat.

During the Annual General Meeting from Sept. 11-12, delegates discussed the status of federal legislation impacting Inuit. They received progress updates on ongoing work related to the Inuit Child First Initiative, TB Elimination and a 10-year analysis of federal budgets commissioned by ITK. 

While in Rankin Inlet, members of the ITK Board of Directors participated in the official launch of Qanuippitaa? National Inuit Health Survey, hosted a community feast and presented a series of awards recognizing community builders from across Nunavut, the AGM’s host region. 

The ITK Board of Directors is made of the elected leaders of the four Inuit land claim regions as voting members: Nunatsiavut Government President Johannes Lampe; Makivik Corporation President Charlie Watt; Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated President Aluki Kotierk; Inuvialuit Regional Corporation Chair and CEO Duane Smith.  Non-voting members are Presidents of ICC Canada, Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada, and the National Inuit Youth Council.  

AGM delegates included Isabella Pain, Deputy Minister of the Nunatsiavut Secretariat, and Gerald Asivak, Minister of Health and Social Development, for the Nunatsiavut Government; Andy Pirti, Treasurer, and Samantha David, Executive Assistant, for Makivik Corporation; David Ningeongan, President of the Kivalliq Inuit Association, and Vice-President James Etoolook, for Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated; and Vice-Chair Gerald Inglangasuk and Evelyn Storr, Director of Community Development, for the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation.  

For more information: 

ITK Communications
[email protected]