Skip to main content

May 18, 2017 — The Government of Canada and Inuit elected representatives met to pursue their shared commitment to renew the Inuit-Crown relationship, advance shared priorities between Inuit and Canada and tackle the unique social, cultural, economic, and environmental issues that Inuit face every day.

Since the signing of the Inuit Nunangat Declaration and forming of the Inuit-Crown Partnership Committee in February, the Government of Canada and Inuit have been working together to establish detailed work-plans on shared priority items.

The priority items identified jointly by Inuit leadership and the Federal Government are:

  • Inuit-Crown Land Claims Agreements Implementation
  • Inuit Nunangat Policy Space
  • Housing
  • Inuktut Revitalization, Maintenance and Promotion
  • Reconciliation Measures
  • Education, Early-Learning and Skills Development
  • Health and Wellness

At the meeting today, Inuit leaders met with federal ministers to discuss work-plans on each of these priority items including short, medium and long-term objectives and goals that will be finalized in the coming months. Meeting participants included; Natan Obed, National Inuit Leader; Johannes Lampe, President of the Nunatsiavut Government; Jobie Tukkiapik, President of Makivik Corporation; Aluki Kotierk, President of Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated; Duane Smith, Chair and CEO of the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, as well as the Honourable Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs; the Honourable Jane Philpott, Minister of Health; the Honourable Mélanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage; the Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of Environment and Climate Change; and the Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development.

As examples of the actionable outcomes of the Inuit-Crown Partnership Committee, Inuit leadership and the Government are identifying priority areas for future investment, ensuring Inuit Nunangat is properly reflected in Canada’s Arctic policy framework, and taking concrete actions to address the housing shortage and overcrowded housing across Inuit Nunangat, as well as revitalizing, maintaining and promoting Inuktut.

This meeting initiates the Inuit-Crown Partnership Committee’s work. The next meeting with ministers and Inuit leaders will be in the Fall of 2017 to continue this important work for Inuit.


“I am truly inspired to be able to work with my colleagues and the Inuit leadership through the Inuit-Crown Partnership Committee. Together in partnership, we are moving forward on implementing the Inuit Nunangat Declaration, co-developing a work plan, setting priorities to achieve tangible results and advancing issues of the utmost importance to Inuit across Inuit Nunangat. Today’s meeting is a reflection of what a renewed Inuit to Crown relationship is all about – a priority for our Government and for all Canadians.”

The Honourable Carolyn Bennett, M.D., P.C., M.P.

Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs

“With the Inuit-Crown Partnership Committee between Inuit leadership and the Federal Government, we have established an important table that allows us to work together with the Government on shared priorities. It is important to work toward outcomes of this work which will ultimately improve the lives of Inuit to the benefit of all Canadians.”

Natan Obed,

President, Inuit Tapitiit Kanatami

Quick Facts

  • On February 9, 2017, the Prime Minister and the President of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami announced the creation of the Inuit-Crown Partnership Committee.
  • The Inuit Nunangat Declaration was signed by ministers of the Government of Canada and the leadership of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, Makivik Corporation, the Nunatsiavut Government, and Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated as partners in the creation of prosperity for Inuit which benefits all Canadians.
  • The Committee includes the Prime Minister and select federal ministers, President Natan Obed on behalf of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, Chair/CEO Duane Smith on behalf of the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, President Aluki Kotierk on behalf of Nunavut Tunngavik Inc., President Jobie Tukkiapik on behalf of Makivik Corporation, and President Johannes Lampe on behalf of the Nunatsiavut Government.
  • The Committee also includes the presidents of the National Inuit Youth Council, Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada, and the Inuit Circumpolar Council Canada as observers.

Media Enquiries

Patricia D’Souza
Senior Communications Officer

Phone: 1 (613) 292-4482
Email: [email protected]