June 27, 2017

National Inuit Youth Summit

June 27, 2017 in NIYC Opportunities

National Inuit Youth Summit

Inuit youth from across Canada will gather in Nain, Nunatsiavut this summer for a National Inuit Youth Summit (NIYS). The Summit, to be held July 31 – August 4, 2017,…
Read More

About the NIYC


Most Inuit live in 53 communities spread across the Inuvialuit Settlement Region (Northwest Territories), Nunavut, Nunavik (Northern Quebec), and Nunatsiavut (Northern Labrador). This vast region is known as Inuit Nunangat. It encompasses roughly 35 percent of Canada’s landmass and 50 percent of its coastline. Youth make up the majority of Canada’s 60,000 Inuit.

The National Inuit Youth Council (NIYC) was established by the Inuit Tapirisat of Canada, now known as Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK) in 1993 to provide guidance and input into issues of interest for Inuit youth in Canada. Each NIYC representative is tasked with voicing the concerns and ideas of Inuit youth from their respective regions, with the elected President serving as the National voice of Inuit youth.

The council is made up of six voting members and 1 president, who is elected for a 2 year term every second June. There are 6 regional youth file holders, employed by the respective land claims organizations that sit on the NIYC as the voting members. The Youth Project Coordinator(s) of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK), our parent organization, serve as the secretariet for the NIYC.

Current Members

Ruth Kaviok

President | National Inuit Youth Council

Mary Andersen

Vice President | National Inuit Youth Council

Nunatsiavut Government

Becky Kilabuk

Qikiqtaani Inuit Association

Ashley Aupaluktuq-Burton

Kivalliq Inuit Association

Melody Teddy

Inuvialuit Regional Corporation

Presley Taylor

Kitikmeot Inuit Association

Anita Annanack

Qarjuit Youth Council

National Inuit Youth Council

75 Albert Street, Suite 1100
Ottawa, ON K1P 5E7

Phone: 1 (613) 238-8181
Toll-Free (Canada): 1 (866) 262-8181
Fax: 1 (613) 234-1991

Share NIYC.