Skip to main content
July 8, 2022 in Announcements, NIYC Opportunities

2022 Virtual National Inuit Youth Summit

The National Inuit Youth Council is excited to host the 2022 Virtual National Inuit Youth Summit (NIYS): Inuit Empowering Inuit.…
Read More
June 18, 2021 in NIYC Opportunities

NIYC Welcomes President Brian Pottle

The National Inuit Youth Council would like to welcome President Brian Pottle of Nunatsiavut. The role of President includes commitment,…
Read More

About the NIYC


Most Inuit live in 53 communities spread across the Inuvialuit Settlement Region (Northwest Territories), Nunavut, Nunavik (Northern Quebec), and Nunatsiavut (Northern Labrador). This vast region is known as Inuit Nunangat. It encompasses roughly 35 percent of Canada’s landmass and 50 percent of its coastline. Youth make up the majority of Canada’s 60,000 Inuit.

The National Inuit Youth Council (NIYC) was established by the Inuit Tapirisat of Canada, now known as Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK) in 1993 to provide guidance and input into issues of interest for Inuit youth in Canada. Each NIYC representative is tasked with voicing the concerns and ideas of Inuit youth from their respective regions, with the elected President serving as the National voice of Inuit youth.

The council is made up of six voting members and 1 president, who is elected for a 2 year term every second June. There are 6 regional youth file holders, employed by the respective land claims organizations that sit on the NIYC as the voting members. The Youth Project Coordinator(s) of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK), our parent organization, serve as the secretariet for the NIYC.

Current Members

Brian Pottle

President | National Inuit Youth Council




Nunatsiavut Government

Natashia Allakariallak

Qikiqtani Inuit Association

Megan Lennie

Inuvialuit Regional Corporation

Presley Taylor

Kitikmeot Inuit Association

Susie-Anne Kudluk

Qarjuit Youth Council

Christine Tootoo

Vice President | National Inuit Youth Council

National Inuit Youth Council

75 Albert Street, Suite 1100
Ottawa, ON K1P 5E7

Phone: 1 (613) 238-8181
Toll-Free (Canada): 1 (866) 262-8181
Fax: 1 (613) 234-1991

Share NIYC.